Somerset County Library System of New Jersey | Connect, Explore, Share, Discover

Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens

Home/SCLSNJ Recommended Reads/Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens

Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens

Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens

Reviewed by Alicia, Mary Jacobs Library

Delia Owens debut novel begins in 1969 as two young boys discover town hero and quarterback, Chase Andrews, dead in the marsh.  From here, the novel transitions back and forth between the investigation into his possible murder and the life of the accused, Kya Clark.  Kya is known as the “marsh girl” by the town of Barkley Cove, NC, but we find that Kya is extremely misunderstood by the community that rejects her.  Kya is a survivor having lived through abuse and abandonment at a very early age and learning to live on her own in the marshes of North Carolina. However, Kya’s need for love and attention pulls her to Tate Walker her first love and teacher and later to Chase Andrews who brings passion and trouble into Kya’s life.

Owens characterizes this novel as “socio-biological thriller.”  Being a wildlife scientist and award-winning nature writer, her description of North Carolina’s marshes is captivating and vibrant.  The setting is a significant character in its own right and the beautifully weaved tale through past and present is both powerful and heartbreaking with a very satisfying ending.  Fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Anna Quindlen would enjoy this book.

By | 2018-08-02T10:06:38+00:00 August 2nd, 2018|SCLSNJ Recommended Reads|
Connect with SCLSNJ through social networks: