Somerset County Library System of New Jersey | Connect, Explore, Share, Discover

The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend by Katarina Bivald

//The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend by Katarina Bivald

The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend by Katarina Bivald

The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend by Katarina Bivald

Reviewed by Alicia, Mary Jacobs Branch

Sara travels all the way from Sweden to stay with her friend and pen pal, Amy.  Amy lives in the small town of Broken Wheel, Iowa. Upon arriving, Sara realizes she is just in time to attend Amy’s funeral and meet all of the quirky characters in Broken Wheel who convince her that Amy would have wanted her to stay.  Sara does stay and decides to repay the town by opening a bookstore with all of Amy’s books. Sara and her bookstore make quite a mark on this dwindling town, providing a light in the middle of empty storefronts. Then, all chaos ensues.

 

Katrina Bivald writes a heartfelt story with well developed yet quirky characters.  She manages to flesh out different themes without losing her levity. The story touches on different types of love and relationships, the diminishment of small town America, immigration, and the ability to find hope in all things.  The characters are real and likable and the connections to different novels are quite tangible. This is a fun, light read and is great for fans of Fanny Flag, Frederik Backman, and Adriana Trigiani.

By |2019-11-14T10:28:24-05:00November 14th, 2019|SCLSNJ Recommended Reads|
Connect with SCLSNJ through social networks: