Somerset County Library System of New Jersey | Connect, Explore, Share, Discover

Eclipse glasses? Our branches have a few left, but we are saving them for the Big Event on Monday.

Runner by Patrick Lee

Home/SCLSNJ Recommended Reads/Runner by Patrick Lee

Runner by Patrick Lee

Runner by Patrick Lee

Sam Dryden, former special forces and now an exile from his own life after a family tragedy, has taken to running on the boardwalk by his house at odd times of the day and night.  One night, while out running, a girl barrels into him from an adjoining path and from that point forward the two are fighting for their lives.  All Rachel knows is that the men at the facility she was being held in want to kill her.  All Sam knows is that he needs to protect her.  Slowly the story of Rachel’s past begins to unfold, a story with genetic manipulation, spying and government conspiracies at its core.  Will the two survive?

This was a really well-read audiobook.  The two main characters are a middle aged male and a teen female.  That would be a challenge to any voice actor, but Raul Esparza does a great job making both distinct and believable.  This was one of those books that I kept bringing inside to listen to because I couldn’t wait for my commute the next morning to know what happened next.  Fans of James Rollins, Michael Crichton, Douglas Child and Richard Preston will love the action and techno-thriller aspects of this tale.
By | 2017-05-03T20:33:46+00:00 April 11th, 2014|SCLSNJ Recommended Reads|
Connect with SCLSNJ through social networks: