Katie the Catsitter” by Colleen AF Venable

Review by Katie Thomas, teen librarian at the Warren Township branch

It’s summer, and Katie is bummed that she can’t go to summer camp with her friends. In order to try and pay to go, she starts working odd jobs. The only job that really sticks is with Madeline, a woman who has Katie watch her 217 cats. These aren’t ordinary cats though: they can sew, use the computer, 3D print, and a whole lot more. As the summer progresses, Katie begins to learn more about herself, Madeline, and the cats.

This graphic novel is a lot of fun to read. It is a great blend of a friendship story and a superhero fantasy.  The illustrations were very colorful and fun, especially all of the different cats. I recommend this for fans of Raina Telgemeier, Svetlana Chmakova, and Ben Hatke.